

Minutes from the Annual General Meeting of MSC at the Overseas Terminal in Wellington 24th September 2009.

Present:	Ross Meder	Chairman
		Region 6 representative
	Allen Hill	Education Outdoors
		Education Convener
	Brendan Lynch	NZ Defence Force
	Dave Comber	LandSAR
	David Shearer	Search and Rescue Institute (Ass. member)
	David Rew	NZ Shooting Federation
	Geoff Ensor	Tourism Industry Ass.
	Joe Green	NZ Police
		HUNTS convener
		Firearms Safety convener
	Aaron Halstead	NZ Mountain Guides
	Joe Fecteau	NZ Boys Brigade
	Andy Woodhouse	Duke of Edinburgh Hillary Awards
	Christeen Mackenzie	Department of Conservation
	Miles Davidson	NZ Snowsports Council
	Chris Short	NZ Alpine Club
	Phil Glasson	Federated Mountain Clubs
	Simon Gianotti	ACC
	Steve Milgate	NZOIA
	Bryan Williams	Department of Labour
	Tony Hickmore	4Youth
		NZ Scouts
	Trevor Dyke	NZ Deerstalkers Ass.
	Murray Douglas	Region 1 representative
	Anja Morris	Region 2 representative
	Noel Bigwood	Region 3 representative
		Bushcraft convener
	Ben Luders	Region 4 representative
	Hamish McCrostie	Snow & Avalanche convener
	John Corcoran	Alpine convener
	Mike Boyes	Research convener



In Attendance: Ollie Clifton

Judy Reid

Paul Chaplow Chris Hall Mike Davies Brian Stokes David Bennet Darryl Carpenter Richard Brodie Chris Tews Steve Schreiber Mike Spray Maggie Forest NZ Alpine Club Deputy Chairperson NZ Alpine Club ONZ Whitireia Polytechnic Department of Conservation NZ Cadets NZ Cadets Chief Executive Business Manager Programme manager Programme manager Programme manager Administration

The meeting opened with a minute's silence for Ernie Hagger, who passed away recently. Ernie was the Council Delegate for the New Zealand Shooting Federation, and a long-standing supporter of the MSC.

!. Apologies:

Tania McKinnon, Colin McGillivray, Girl Guides (Ruth Teasdale), Dean Eager, Garth Gully

2. Confirmation of council 2009-2010

List of voting delegates read out

3. Welcome

Ross welcomed all and spoke of the day's purpose

4. Confirmation of previous minutes

Moved by Mike Boyes, Seconded by Judy Reid .

Motion carried

5. Matters arising

None

6. Chair's report

Business over the last year has been difficult. We've had to change our business and it's been hard. Clear we need to get sustainable funding. We need to understand the needs of the community and be able to evaluate our success. Sector focussed. (Refer to Annual Report)

(Refer to Annual Repor

7. CE's report

Outdoors is there and outdoors is good. Some inherent risk and that's fine with education and support. Discover more, safely. Our vision; our mission. Progress against plan: (Presentation attached – refer to Annual Report)



8. Financial report:

Presentation by Barry from Grant Thornton with some explanation of the impact of the current economic climate on our operating environment.

Miles Davidson moved the Council accept the Financial Report, Noel Bigwood seconded.

Motion carried

9. Standing committee reports: Tabled

10. Reg Rep reports: Tabled

11. Member reports: Tabled

ACC: commending CE's commitment. Continuing to put money into NID, working on priorities DOC: continue to support MSC and looking forward to seeing the results of current projects, Noel notes Doc's assistance with the revised bush manual Alpine: in review of our volunteer instructors and improving their skills DoE: good to see the industry doing something themselves FMC: want to pick up training and go through MSC for that Mountain guides: get report from Aaron; very happy DoL: work about to start on review, want to be more proactive. Want to have closer relationships. Shooting Fed: substantial red. In funding. Relying on volunteers. Appt. A permanent delegate next meeting.

Motion that the tabled reports be accepted: Tony Hickmore, seconded John Corcoran.

Motion carried

12. New member applications

- NZ Cadets
- Girls Brigade NZ
- Scouts NZ
- Girl Guides NZ

The representatives gave short presentations for their organisations.

Ben Luders moved that the applications for membership be accepted, Allen Hill seconded.

Motion carried

13. Council Awards

- Bridget Janse
- Sue Graham
- Keith Theobald
- Rod Voyce

Motion that the council award these candidates by Joe Green, seconded Anja Morris.

Motion carried



14. Business plan and budget

Darryl gave a presentation. Some discussion and questions, particularly re funding and the situation about avalanche/snow.

It was stated that the intention is to break even although the budget is currently at a \$200K deficit, but the details must be worked out in due process.

Trevor Dyke moved that the business plan and budget be accepted by council. Allen Hill seconded. Motion carried

15. Confirmation of Chair

Ross Meder was the only nominee. Murray Douglas moved that Ross Meder be confirmed as Chair, John Corcoran seconded.

Motion carried

16. Deputy Chair

Geoff and Murray introduced themselves. Murray Douglas elected.

17. Exec

Candidates spoke briefly to their experience and purpose. Seat 1 Trevor Dyke Seat 2 Geoff Ensor

18. Confirmation of cheque signatories

Signatories are Ross Meder, Darryl Carpenter, Richard Brodie, Lindsey Pickering, Maggie Forest Motion that these be confirmed as cheque signatories by Noel Bigwood, seconded Joe Green. Motion carried

19. Confirmation of Auditors;

Motion to confirm Deloittes as auditors by Steve Milgate, seconded by Tony Hickmore.

Motion carried

20. General Business

Question re: coopting members for Exec. Ross outlined the process and noted that there will be a brief meeting of new exec to consider this possibility.

21. Next meeting

The next AGM to be held in September 2010. The council may need to meet again in March/April. Motion by Chris Short that this extra meeting be at the discretion of the Executive. Seconded by Noel Bigwood. Motion carried.

Note: Two lifetime awards were confirmed by postal vote prior to the meeting and presented after the meeting to

- Ian Owens
- Jack McConchie