MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING NEW ZEALAND MOUNTAIN SAFETY COUNCIL

9.00am, 27th October 2017

Mac's Function Centre, 4 Taranaki Street, Wellington

Present

Kirsten Malpas	Accident Compensation Corporation
Jenni Davies	Christian Camping NZ
Steven Peters	Department of Conservation
Fiona McDonald	Education Outdoors NZ
Graham Pomeroy	LandSAR
Peter Lennox	MetService
Sam Newton	NZ Alpine Club
Bill O'Leary	NZ Deerstalkers Association
Jane Morris	NZ Mountain Guides Association
Deb Hurdle	NZ Outdoor Instructors Association
Mike McIlraith	NZ Police
Andrew Leslie	NZ Recreation Association
Alex Warriner	Scouts NZ
Rachael Moore	Tourism Industry Association NZ
Executive Committee Members	
Geoff Ensor	Chairperson
Ross Meder	Executive Committee Member
Murray Douglas	Executive Committee Member
Nicholas Brown	Executive Committee Member
Staff	
Mike Daisley	Chief Executive Officer
Nathan Watson	Partnerships Manager
Nick Kingstone	Communications Manager
Adam Smith	Partnerships Advisor Hunting
Bevan Smith	Partnerships Advisor
Loic Lassueur	Partnerships Advisor Alpine
Ros Wells	Graphic Designer
Marli Wingens	Team Administrator
Guests	
Duncan Ferner	NZ Search and Rescue
Jo Cheatley	SportNZ

1. Welcome and Introduction

Geoff Ensor, Chairperson, welcomed everyone in the room and introduced his fellow board members. Geoff also acknowledged the success of the pre AGM social dinner and thanked everyone involved.

2. Apologies shown on screen from:

Michael Good	BB/ICONZ
Tinaka Mearns	DOC
Peter Wilson	FMC
Rosemarie Thomas	GGNZ
Kevin Boekholt	HeliSki NZ
Jacqui Bridges	MetService
Peter Kreft	MetService
Karen Tait	NZAC
Bob Sewell	NZ Mountain Radio
Miles Davidson	SAANZ (Snowsports Council)
Gillian Wyatt	NZOIA
Elizabeth Dickens	Girls Brigade
David Rew	NZ Shooting Fed
William Pike	WPCA

3. Confirmation of Council Delegates (shown on screen)

Geoff reminded everyone in the room that only delegates present or their nominated substitute could speak and vote.

4. Confirmation of previous meeting minutes - from 28 October 2016

- Moved by Rachael Moore
- Seconded by Fiona McDonald

5. Matters arising from previous minutes

Geoff reminded everyone that the key action of last year's minutes was constitutional change.

"That the revisions to the 2012 constitution (as outlined in the draft 2016 constitution within your AGM pack) be accepted as tabled, but conditional on checking that proposed revisions continue to meet charitable status, and also after checking the legal status of incorporated membership (4.1) and changing as necessary"

6. Chairperson's Report

Chairperson's Report read by Geoff Ensor.

- Moved by Alex Warriner
- Seconded by Murray Douglas

Geoff spoke to his report acknowledging the executive committee members for their hard work and efforts. Geoff also wanted to acknowledge the contribution of Mountain Safety Council's partner organisations and funders.

Geoff noted there are a few challenges for the organisation. One of the challenges is to stay within our strategic direction. It is as much about saying what we will not do as it is to say what we will focus on. Another challenge is to maintain the momentum that MSC has as an organisation. Retain the freshness and creativity that the organisation currently has.

Out of last year's AGM came the emphasis on looking ahead. There was a strong sense of a need for MSC to be ahead of trends and tourism changes. To use insights thoughtfully to predict where we are going to be in 5 or 10 years.

Geoff acknowledged the Firearms volunteers who continued to deliver the firearms programmes for MSC. There has been a lot of uncertainties in the firearms space. MSC committed and agreed to the Police to extend delivering the programme to June 2018. Working through the firearms changes will be a challenge this year.

Geoff acknowledged the organisational excellence as part of our strategy. This has been worked hard on by the team.

Geoff acknowledged Mike in his role as CEO and thanked him for his effort and commitment and leading the team.

7. Chief Executive's Report

Chief Executive's Report read by Mike Daisley.

- Moved by Geoff Ensor
- Seconded by Jenni Davies

Mike started by acknowledging the team and saying that it is a privilege to lead it. He said the team has got the knowledge, the willingness and the team approach to make things happen.

Mike explained that the partnership approach works very well. He noted that there are still some challenges in the sector but also says that we probably have got the balance right. The feedback from the sector is that things are going very well and that the balance is there.

8. Financial Report 2016/2017

- Moved by Geoff Ensor
- Seconded by Fiona McDonald

Mike explained that the financial audit was quick and clean. All funders were comfortable with the return of their investments.

Geoff acknowledged John Farrell's contribution to the financial report.

9. Election of one Chairperson – Geoff Ensor

As there was only one nomination, Fiona McDonald confirmed Geoff Ensor elected.

- Moved by Fiona McDonald
- Seconded by Jane Morris

10. Election of Deputy Chairperson – Fiona McDonald

As there was only one nomination, Geoff Ensor confirmed Fiona McDonald elected.

- Moved by Geoff Ensor
- Seconded by Jenni Davies

11. Election of two Members of the Executive Committee – Peter Kreft

As there was only one nomination, Geoff Ensor confirmed Peter Kreft elected.

- Moved by Geoff Ensor
- Seconded by Alex Warriner

Geoff once again acknowledged the co-opting of Murray Douglas and Ross Meder and thanked them for their efforts and input to the board.

Geoff also acknowledged Rachael Moore's contribution and thanked her for her service on behalf of the board.

12. Confirmation of Signatories - Mike Daisley, Nathan Watson, Geoff Ensor, Nick Kingstone

Geoff Ensor asked for confirmation from the floor and all signatories were confirmed with a show of hands.

13. Confirmation of Auditors – Deloittes

- Moved by Geoff Ensor
- Seconded by Rachael Moore

14. General Business

Nil

15. Confirmation of next meeting

To be advised – either Friday 26th or Tuesday 30th October 2018.

Meeting closed at 9.55am.